Author Topic: Transitions  (Read 4750 times)

AjVback

• Visitor
    • View Profile
    • Email
Transitions
« on: 2005-05-17, 04:43:32 AM »
Would it be possible to create a script which fades in and out of different maps every time you use the "Swich map" function? Its just that sometimes the flat, 1 screen to another is a bit abrupt. A transition would look cool too. it would have to have something to do with accesing the screen/moniter propeties. (im still learning VB)
-Aaron Snoswell

bluemonkmn

• SGDK Author
  • Administrator
  • Fanatic
    • ICQ Messenger - 2678251
    • MSN Messenger - BlueMonkMN@gmail.com
    • View Profile
    • http://sgdk2.sf.net/
    • Email
Transition effect
« Reply #1 on: 2005-05-17, 05:49:19 AM »
There are no such properties, and no way to access them from script (even if there are).  But one could make a series of maps/layers that have dithered tile patterns on them to progressively reveal more of the map.  Then the script could draw those in sequence over the top of the display after a switch map function occurs to simulate a transition.  I don't have time to demonstrate that this morning, but if you're interested in that kind of thing, I might be able to work it out later.  I think others have mentioned wanting to do something similar.

AjVback

• Visitor
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: 2005-05-21, 08:42:18 PM »
I see. so the map/layer which it fades throught would have lots of semi transparent tiles? Interesting idea. Is it possible to make the player swich to a new sprite on a different layer?
-Aaron Snoswell

billybob884

• Contributor
  • Fanatic
    • AOL Instant Messenger - billybob884
    • View Profile
Transitions
« Reply #3 on: 2005-05-21, 08:55:11 PM »
you can go back and delete your own posts as long as noone posts after you
"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move." :: Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

bluemonkmn