Scrolling Game Development Kit Forum

SGDK Version 2 => General Discussion => Topic started by: durnurd on 2007-11-02, 03:23:05 PM

Title: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: durnurd on 2007-11-02, 03:23:05 PM
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: durnurd on 2007-11-02, 04:47:37 PM
Some more:

When previewing an animation, changing the background color doesn't work if no animation occurs (i.e. if it's just a multi-frame static tile)
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: durnurd on 2007-11-02, 08:33:15 PM
When editing a map, if you add a new tile to a list which was previously unmapped and defaulted to the frame value, then go back to editing the map (without closing the map editor window) it will show up as the new tile in the selection window, but will show up as the old frame when placing it on the map.  Closing and reopening the map editor fixes this.
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: durnurd on 2007-11-05, 05:30:01 PM
The ability to split and merge tilesets and framesets would be particularly handy, I think.  So, for example, I could create several different tilesets for several different groups of objects, then create a conglomerate tileset that uses whichever groups of items I need for a particular map on a single layer (for solidity purposes).

Or (and this is probably less likely) the ability to lock two layers with two different tilesets but the same scroll rate together so that the solidity from both layers applies to either layer.

Also, when editing frames, I sometimes get "Error drawing transformed graphic" errors popping up twice in a row when I go into the frame editor view, but the matrix is perfectly fine.  I think it has to do with the selected background frame from a previous view of the frame editor.  And every time I tab away from the screen to type this message and tab back, another copy of the message shows up.  I've got four messageboxes saying the same thing now.  Five now.
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: bluemonkmn on 2007-11-07, 07:34:55 AM
I did a number of the simple improvements and then implemented better tile "hovering" in the map editor because it has always bugged me that when you have an empty tile selected (or a partly/mostly transparent tile), you can't really preview what you're doing properly.  So I finally fixed that, and I gotta say, it's a lot nicer to work with now, particularly on the isometric map where it was hard to tell what tile you were hovering over/under.  the copy/paste function also properly shows which tiles will be affected according to whether you're doing a transparent paste or a regular paste.  That's all for this morning.  I'll check in these changes ASAP.
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: durnurd on 2007-11-07, 05:45:53 PM
I do like the lines for importing.  Hopefully you get a chance to implement some version of the other suggestions, because some people still might not get which tile gets the pixels that are directly under the lines.  A preview or zoom or nudge or all three would be helpful eventually.

Also, there's a discrepancy (or, at least I think there is) in the imports.  Importing a graphic can import from any graphic type, and importing full sheets is the same, but the file filter on importing full sheets is .png only.

I used to be able to resize the "Background Frame" window, which was nice so I could actually see the frames in it (the default size is too small if working with larger frames).  That functionality disappeared when I got the latest from CVS.
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: bluemonkmn on 2007-11-07, 10:20:49 PM
OK, finally checked things in just now.  These changes went in:

Also, I don't see any problem resizing the background frame window.  It works fine here.

I don't see the need for splitting and merging tilesets and framesets.  The purpose of tilesets is so that you can re-use frames from a frameset without creating a whole copy of the whole frameset.  So if you want multiple tilesets, why not just create multiple tilesets based on the same frameset?  (It just occurred to me, I can't think of a good reason to have more than one frameset in a project except for the fact that you might have imported frames from multiple sources.)

Are you still getting "Error drawing transformed graphic"?  I thought I fixed something like that before releasing the beta, but maybe it was more recent.

I think a little trial and error when importing graphics is acceptable so I'm not in too big a hurry to implement upgrades to the graphics importing process.  I have more important things to deal with.  I wonder if I should make more importable sprite templates for more of the sprite types that 1.x had (follow left wall etc)... looks like Morgengrauen was disappointed to lose those.  I thought they weren't particularly useful templates but...?
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: durnurd on 2007-11-07, 10:46:44 PM
Okay, confession time.

The reason I wanted to have the ability to split tilesets up is because I put all of the tiles for the graphics set into one tileset, and they should probably be in different tilesets, and I don't want to have to redefine all of them or edit the .SGDK2 file.  Maybe the ability to quickly and easily copy (large numbers of) tiles from tileset to tileset? Same with frames.
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: bluemonkmn on 2007-11-08, 06:39:31 AM
Would it work to export the tileset, then re-import it with a different name and delete the tiles you don't want?
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: Tanja on 2007-11-08, 09:31:43 AM
what`s up, do the "checked in" things mean, there will be a new version soon?
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: durnurd on 2007-11-08, 10:42:02 AM
Reimporting the tileset works in my case.  What if somebody need to go the other way, though?  If, for example, someone has two tilesets that they want on the same layer (for solidity and overlapping reasons).

When adding a layer, when setting the offset, it seems like it's setting the offset of the first layer.

I added a layer (Z-Index 0)
I added a second layer.  During the wizard, when moving my mouse around on step 5 (the offset part) it was moving the layer I had added in the previous step.  I didn't need to set an offset so I continued (Z-Index 1)
Same thing happened when I added a third layer (moving only layer 0)
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: bluemonkmn on 2007-11-09, 06:44:11 AM
what`s up, do the "checked in" things mean, there will be a new version soon?

Not necessarily.  It just means the source code has been updated on the server for others who want to access the most current source code.  But updates can be released any time.  If/when I think that some significant changes have been added that people should see/test, then I might do another release.  But I might do another release soon because it has been a while and a number of small changes have been included.
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: bluemonkmn on 2007-11-13, 05:29:23 AM
Reimporting the tileset works in my case.  What if somebody need to go the other way, though?  If, for example, someone has two tilesets that they want on the same layer (for solidity and overlapping reasons).

Seems like a feature, so I'll probably postpone that until a later release now that SGDK2 is in beta.  I'm trying to do mostly bug fixes now.

When adding a layer, when setting the offset, it seems like it's setting the offset of the first layer.

I fixed the layer wizard so it skips that step when adding a new layer (because there's no tile data until the layer is added, so there's nothing to preview).  Positioning existing layers should work, though.  I also added a warning about positioning a layer whose scroll rate is not 1x1 because scrolling is off when the display is not the same size as the real display.  (For example, if the scroll rate is 0x0, you can't position the layer anywhere outside the initial view no matter how far you scroll... scrolling has no effect on the 0x0 layer.  But the display won't show you an area the size of the display that you'll have, so it may be necessary to temporarily set the scroll rate to 1x1 or something.)

The fix is checked in.
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: bluemonkmn on 2007-11-13, 05:32:13 AM
Dropping down the Mapped Tiles list, if the list goes the full height of the screen or more, the mouse will overlap the list and will disappear as soon as the mouse is let go.

What causes the list to be so tall?  Big tiles?  Should this list revert to just showing numbers if the tiles are larger than a certain size?
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: durnurd on 2007-11-13, 10:22:08 AM
They were indeed large tiles.  I don't know if that's what caused it though.  Maybe the preview should be moved elsewhere, so when you move the mouse over the item in the list, it will update the preview, say, next to the list, and that could also serve as the animation preview rather than a separate window.  Or something.  The preview is somewhat helpful, but the restrictive size of the list makes it less helpful than it could be.
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: bluemonkmn on 2007-11-14, 05:57:34 AM
The purpose of showing the tile in the list was not as a preview, but so you would know which tile was which when selecting one.  Maybe I should just crop it if it's too big so you can still see which is which (at least for the normal sized tiles).
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: durnurd on 2007-11-14, 09:49:06 AM
Well, I know it's not meant as a preview, but it's the easiest way to see a preview.  I don't have to bring up an extra window, and if I'm editing a mostly dark image, it's really hard to see in the preview window anyway, because I can't change the BG color.  And I don't know if cropping will help, because what if you have several tiles that look similar in the place they've been cropped to?
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: SmartBoy16 on 2007-11-14, 03:51:51 PM
im thinking maybe you can crop it, but as you hover over it, it will show the full tile after a few seconds. im not sure if that would make it too hard to program.
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: bluemonkmn on 2007-11-15, 06:19:29 AM
And I don't know if cropping will help, because what if you have several tiles that look similar in the place they've been cropped to?

At least you would know it's one of those tiles instead of just having a number there with no idea what the tile looks like.  Something's better than nothing, right?
Do you have a project I could test with that demonstrates the problems we're talking about (at least the too-big tile problem) so I don't have to make one of my own?  If so, note that I have a new private support/upload scheme.  Go to http://sgdk2.enigmadream.com/support (http://sgdk2.enigmadream.com/support) and you can upload things there more easily than with FTP (and only I can download them).
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: durnurd on 2007-11-15, 08:38:42 AM
It's better than nothing, yes, but it's a sub-optimal solution.  I uploaded the project to the site.  I'm not sure if the problem will present itself easily, since I've done a bit of remodeling of the tilesets so there's more than one now.
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: bluemonkmn on 2007-11-16, 07:28:42 AM
I can see the problem if I position the window correctly on the screen.  I noticed something about the tiles in the map editor, though.  The tiles that represent the top of the building aren't offset up high (above the mouse cursor) the way they should be.  I think they need to be raised like the top of the toof for the front of the building is so that the map tile that defines their existence is in the proper location relative to the other tiles.

I'll investigate the "preview" when I get a chance.
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: durnurd on 2007-11-16, 08:43:12 AM
There are a few problems I have with doing that, and those are
a) when a tile is offset, it's hard to find the area where the tile actually is if I need to change it or something
b) usually when you look at a map of tiles, for the most part when you click on a tile you expect to be able to select it, not three tiles above it.  I'm used to working in false 2.5-D and how that acts and how to deal with it.  Is there really a need to do the offset like that?
c) designing the tiles is still too difficult, getting them all offset properly with hardly any reference
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: Tanja on 2007-11-16, 02:03:20 PM
may i interpose a question about the layer editor?
can i move path points easily around with the mouse? or is there only the method to type x and y in?
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: durnurd on 2007-11-16, 11:23:35 PM
That's something I've suggested in the past, and may be included in future releases.  I think BlueMonk is focusing on bug fixes until he gets something released.

Addition:

When importing an object, if the file has no description, when you open it, if there was already a message in the "File Details" box, it isn't cleared.
Also: The Video code SGDK2 file has no description.
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: Tanja on 2008-08-17, 12:13:39 PM
some days ago i used a level editor which had a feature i would be very happy to see here again. it is a new option for the clone tool at the layer editor. after one has selected some tiles, i would be useful to be able to deselect some tiles. i had the problem very often with my game. i wanted to select some rocks (consisting of several tiles), but their shape wasn
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: Tanja on 2008-08-20, 11:38:20 AM
i just stumbled about this thread: http://gamedev.comdel.net/index.php?topic=1248.0  (http://gamedev.comdel.net/index.php?topic=1248.0)
it is a wonderful idea and is on my wishlist too.  ;D  (i need a cute puppy/kitten smiley with big eyes noone can resist)
Title: Re: More editor upgrade ideas
Post by: Tanja on 2008-08-21, 02:38:01 PM
some function that starts the game again would be fine. or do i err and there is some thing already?