Scrolling Game Development Kit Forum
SGDK Version 2 => News and Announcements => Topic started by: bluemonkmn on 2007-12-27, 05:12:53 PM
-
See the full article describing the whole release at http://sgdk2.sourceforge.net/release/ (http://sgdk2.sourceforge.net/release/).
If you scroll to the bottom you will see a link to the Slashdot Firehose. If you can vote to include this story on Slashdot, and if it gets published there, it would be a big boost for the release!
-
Wow nice... :D
Voted for the article on slashdot... hopefully it gets published. :D
I'm downloading it now. ;)
PS. Love the fixed background on the site. :)
-
are there differences (more fixes) to RC-1?
-
Yes, they are listed in the change log at http://sourceforge.net/project/shownotes.php?group_id=152001&release_id=564439 (http://sourceforge.net/project/shownotes.php?group_id=152001&release_id=564439):
- If template Projects folder cannot be located, allow default project to be loaded from embedded resources instead of throwing an unhandled exception.
- Compile temporary code in the temporary directory instead of in the program directory in order to avoid errors when running in secured environments as an unprivileged user.
- Correct default numeric values in frame tweening wizard to use system's decimal separator.
-
homepage still states sgdk2 is in beta.
SGDK2 is currently in beta. That means the main development and basic testing for the release is complete, all the features and documentation planned for the release are in, and now it's in the hands of the community for more public, widespread testing....
-
See the full article describing the whole release at http://sgdk2.sourceforge.net/release/ (http://sgdk2.sourceforge.net/release/).
That's awesome!!! and it only took six alphas and 2 betas. *claps hands*
-
homepage still states sgdk2 is in beta.
Oops, thanks for catching that.
-
- Compile temporary code in the temporary directory instead of in the program directory in order to avoid errors when running in secured environments as an unprivileged user.
So you figured it out then?
-
Yes, I had to use CreateObjectFromAndUnwrap instead of CreateObjectAndUnwrap, if I recall correctly, in order to specify the assembly file in the temp folder instead of just the assembly name.
-
Methinks there are a few SGDK2 fans I don't know about, and some interest in the new release on the 27th that people aren't talking about in these forums yet :yes::
- December 22 2007: 4 Downloads; 125 web hits
- December 23 2007: 54 Downloads; 253 web hits
- December 24 2007: 11 Downloads; 132 web hits
- December 25 2007: 14 Downloads; 107 web hits
- December 26 2007: 5 Downloads; 127 web hits
- December 27 2007: 35 Downloads; 340 web hits
- December 28 2007: 96 Downloads; 2152 web hits
- December 29 2007: 184 Downloads; 4322 web hits
Got a nice boost from the release there.
Oh, and although the story wasn't posted on Slashdot, it was posted on http://gamedev.net/ (http://gamedev.net/)
-
hahaha cool! :D
So there must be people going round the site who haven't registered/posted, because there is a massive spike there! :)
-
wow, a really nice download count.
-
I noticed a few problems in the first tutorial (creating a game without importing). I have fixed them so the tutorial will be better in the next release. Until then, the updated tutorial can be found here:
http://sgdk2.sourceforge.net/Documentation/Tutorial1.html (http://sgdk2.sourceforge.net/Documentation/Tutorial1.html)
-
i found a difference in the tileset editor. i don't know wether you changed it willful, but the old thing i liked better.
when i make some mapped tiles, and by coincidence want to make a already mapped tile again, it gave instantly this message:
Tile index __ has been already mapped. [...]
when i do the same in the newest version of sgdk2, it doesn't give me the message, but changes the index to 0.
what sense does that make? when i don't look, and click, there is a frame 0 on the first frame of a new mapping, what i don't want, this way or the other.
-
That wasn't intentional, I don't think. I will try it when I get home.
-
I tried and the behavior is still there to notify you if you try to redefine an already-mapped tile. Perhaps you are not clear on the distinction between a mapped tile and an automatically mapped tile. If you have not explicitly mapped a tile (if it does not show up in the dropdown list of tiles) there can still be tiles in that range that can be used on a map. But you will not get a warning/error when trying to re-map one of these implicitly mapped tiles. This allows you to accept the default behavior for a bunch of tiles, but then override the appearance of some tile if you decide it should look different (without a warning message). The warning message only happens if you try to explicitly map the same tile index twice.
-
i suggest heavily a function to delete rules including children.
just now i deleted 94 rules single.
(they were left over by my old ReactToStreams behaviour, which was made of single rules. now it is a neat code object, thank god)
-
I made a note of it.
-
in sprite rules it would be a lot easier if you could have some more keyboard shortcuts.
for example copy rule could be: ctrl+c
paste rule: ctrl+v
delete rule: delete key
copy rule including children: ctrl+shift+c
something like that would be a lot easier than going through menu's.
-
word!
-
Ctrl+C, Ctrl+V, and delete are reserved for operations within a textbox, and I'm afraid that if I make those form-wide shortcuts in the menu, then attempting to delete a character from a textbox would delete the whole rule, but if I don't put the shortcut in the main menu (maybe only in the tree view's context menu), maybe I could manually handle key-presses on the tree control to behave like this.
-
i desperately wish to have a chance to select multiple rules and delete multiple rules (at least the option to delete a rule including children) in the next version...
-
If you really need to do this right now, you can edit the .SGDK2 file in notepad and find the rules and delete them.
-
no bad idea at all. ^^ thanks!
-
next suggestion: it would be lovely to can set "SnapToTiles" onto Sprites also. ^^
next suggestion2: why not hard code "modulateAlpha" for layers and tiles?
-
What do you mean by this? A function to snap sprites to tiles during runtime? Or during design time while placing sprites?
If during runtime, is this just a replacement for move by velocity and then set position equal to
(location / tile size) * tile size?
If during design time, would
Edit->Snap to Tiles Ctrl + T
be the functionality you're looking for?
Or are you referring to a function that snaps to sprites?
-
oh, then it's my fault. i didn't figure out "Snap To Tiles" in the Editor was for placing Sprites also. because it works only with first placement of the sprite. and i placed a sprite, and then remembered "snapToTiles", but then it snapped no more. that's fine. thanks for clarification.