Author Topic: Maps, Maps, Maps.  (Read 6948 times)

v6v

  • Clever
  • Fanatic
  • ***
  • Posts: 500
  • Has renamed his project to Galaxy!
    • View Profile
    • My Developer Page!
    • Email
Maps, Maps, Maps.
« on: 2012-06-04, 06:15:20 PM »
Is there any list or array that houses all of the MapBase maps that I can use?

I want to use an int to select a map from an array of maps for a console function:

/map <integer> where integer is an integer that looks into an array of all MapBase maps and finds the map at array location "integer"

That way "/map 1" could be used to switch to the second map in the array (0 based index) and so forth.

durnurd

  • Lead Lemming
  • Expert
  • Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 1234
  • Games completed so far: 0
    • MSN Messenger - durnurd@hotmail.com
    • View Profile
    • Find My Ed
Re: Maps, Maps, Maps.
« Reply #1 on: 2012-06-05, 06:51:03 AM »
I don't recall if there is such a list, but you can use this to create such a list.
Code: [Select]
typeof(MapBase).Assembly.GetTypes().Where(type => type.IsSubclassOf(typeof(MapBase)));
Edward Dassmesser

bluemonkmn

  • SGDK Author
  • Administrator
  • Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 2761
    • ICQ Messenger - 2678251
    • MSN Messenger - BlueMonkMN@gmail.com
    • View Profile
    • http://sgdk2.sf.net/
    • Email
Re: Maps, Maps, Maps.
« Reply #2 on: 2012-06-05, 11:50:20 AM »
Based on what you want to use the array for I would suggest *not* using an array and instead using the map name. It'll be easier to look it up by name.  From the name you can get the MapBase-derived type using GetType(), and then you can pass that to a function like GameForm.GetMap. But if you must have an array, you can use durnurd's suggestion or just hard code an array like MapBase mapsTypes[] = {typeof(Map1), typeof(Map2), ...};

v6v

  • Clever
  • Fanatic
  • ***
  • Posts: 500
  • Has renamed his project to Galaxy!
    • View Profile
    • My Developer Page!
    • Email
Re: Maps, Maps, Maps.
« Reply #3 on: 2012-06-05, 12:04:03 PM »
Durund:

Thanks for the code, but I can't seem to access Linq..
I opened the solution in Visual Studio, target platform was unspecified, so I set it to NET4.0, still nothing.

Not sure where to go from here.

Bluemonkmn:

I need the maps to be accessed by an integer though, not name, as many maps have quite unusual names. I suppose however that I could rename all maps to A1, A2, A3, and use that as an ID.

EDIT:
I've decided (Because SGDK2 won't let me add System.Core as a reference when I Generate my project) to just create an array of maps.
« Last Edit: 2012-06-05, 01:29:29 PM by #Sharp »

durnurd

  • Lead Lemming
  • Expert
  • Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 1234
  • Games completed so far: 0
    • MSN Messenger - durnurd@hotmail.com
    • View Profile
    • Find My Ed
Re: Maps, Maps, Maps.
« Reply #4 on: 2012-06-05, 05:35:46 PM »
Well, the code I provided was inlined to make it simpler to express.  It's plenty easy to do without any extra assemblies or Linq.

Code: [Select]
List<Type> maps = new List<Type>();
foreach (Type t in typeof(MapBase).Assembly.GetTypes())
    if (t.IsSubclassOf(typeof(MapBase)))
        maps.Add(t);

But obviously, there are other solutions, as you've found.
Edward Dassmesser

bluemonkmn

  • SGDK Author
  • Administrator
  • Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 2761
    • ICQ Messenger - 2678251
    • MSN Messenger - BlueMonkMN@gmail.com
    • View Profile
    • http://sgdk2.sf.net/
    • Email
Re: Maps, Maps, Maps.
« Reply #5 on: 2012-06-05, 08:41:04 PM »
I've decided (Because SGDK2 won't let me add System.Core as a reference when I Generate my project) to just create an array of maps.

I thought at one point I added the ability to reference .NET DLL's simply by adding the DLL name to the SourceCode folder, as is done with OpenTK.dll. But maybe that only works with DLLs that are in the same directory as the EXE. Can't remember any more.

v6v

  • Clever
  • Fanatic
  • ***
  • Posts: 500
  • Has renamed his project to Galaxy!
    • View Profile
    • My Developer Page!
    • Email
Re: Maps, Maps, Maps.
« Reply #6 on: 2012-06-05, 10:06:30 PM »
Yes, it's how I had added Lidgren.Network (It's also neccesary to add the DLL to the same folder as the EXE of SGDK2 as well as your game), but I had never tried it with NET Dependencies...