Author Topic: Codename: IDK  (Read 408240 times)

tprime

  • Fanatic
  • ***
  • Posts: 395
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Codename: IDK
« Reply #90 on: 2008-09-18, 09:07:10 PM »
Cool, can't wait to buy it! 8)

SmartBoy16

  • Contributor
  • Fanatic
  • **
  • Posts: 587
  • Looking for inspiration.....
    • View Profile
    • Email
roll
« Reply #91 on: 2008-09-20, 08:17:24 AM »
hows this for a roll?
Looking to the skies.....

tprime

  • Fanatic
  • ***
  • Posts: 395
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Codename: IDK
« Reply #92 on: 2008-09-20, 02:02:04 PM »
If I knew how to make a rolling guy like you did I would have never taken the roll function off my new version of my game.  :(   It is actually a really good roll though. It looks realistic. ;D

SmartBoy16

  • Contributor
  • Fanatic
  • **
  • Posts: 587
  • Looking for inspiration.....
    • View Profile
    • Email
Level 2-1 and Level 7
« Reply #93 on: 2008-10-07, 07:05:15 AM »
another quick update (somewhat) featuring level 2-1 and 7

Level 2-1 is a motorbike level that you are running away from police (using a motorbike) in a desert (formerly Lake Plentyful)
        i plan on putting a "Consistonator" (see readme) on that level so the collisions dont make you launch in random places

Level 2-2 will be featured under the desert and uses a random map (still in progress)

Level 7 features, obviously, Level 7. right now you can moon jump (NOT happening in final game) and press X for IMPROVED Barrel Roll and C to reset to standing position
        a consitonator is used on the player when you are pushing the bloulder and it creates a cool effect.

no music is on there yet (actually it was, but nobody wants to download a 75MB FILE, especially uploading it!) but it is done



with that, just leave comments  :canadian: :canadian: :canadian: :canadian: :canadian: :canadian: :canadian: :canadian: :canadian: :canadian: :canadian: :canadian:

SmartBoy16

ps: stupid dial-up (you should know why by now)
Looking to the skies.....

SmartBoy16

  • Contributor
  • Fanatic
  • **
  • Posts: 587
  • Looking for inspiration.....
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Codename: IDK
« Reply #94 on: 2008-10-07, 09:33:14 PM »
Looking to the skies.....

SmartBoy16

  • Contributor
  • Fanatic
  • **
  • Posts: 587
  • Looking for inspiration.....
    • View Profile
    • Email
Scripting Problem
« Reply #95 on: 2008-10-19, 11:12:49 AM »
each level that i am using uses a different script, so i tried switching the scrpit, but i don;t know if i made this right

Code: [Select]


Sub Switch(MapName)
If MapName = "Level 1-1" OR MapName = "Level 1-2" OR MapName = "Boss 1" Then
HostObj.StartScript=1
ElseIf MapName = "Level 2-1" OR MapName = "Level 2-2" OR MapName = "Boss 2" Then
HostObj.StartScript=2
ElseIf MapName = "Level 3-1" OR MapName = "Level 3-2" OR MapName = "Boss 3" Then
HostObj.StartScript=3
ElseIf MapName = "Level 4-1" OR MapName = "Level 4-2" OR MapName = "Boss 4" Then
HostObj.StartScript=4
ElseIf MapName = "Level 5-1" OR MapName = "Level 5-2" OR MapName = "Boss 5" Then
HostObj.StartScript=5
ElseIf MapName = "Level 6-1" OR MapName = "Level 6-2" OR MapName = "Boss 6" Then
HostObj.StartScript=6
ElseIf MapName = "Level 7" OR MapName = "Boss 7" Then
HostObj.StartScript=7
Else
HostObj.StartScript=8
End If
End Sub


Sub Player_OnBeforeMoveSprites()
With ProjectObj.GamePlayer.rMap
Switch(.Name)
End With
End Sub


this is at the beginning of each scrpit segment
Looking to the skies.....

bluemonkmn

  • SGDK Author
  • Administrator
  • Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 2761
    • ICQ Messenger - 2678251
    • MSN Messenger - BlueMonkMN@gmail.com
    • View Profile
    • http://sgdk2.sf.net/
    • Email
Re: Codename: IDK
« Reply #96 on: 2008-10-20, 03:46:44 AM »
I think you need to make sure you don't set HostObj.StartScript if the correct script is already running, otherwise it will re-start the script every time it is called (every frame).  So you need to remember which script is running and not set StartScript if it's the same one.

SmartBoy16

  • Contributor
  • Fanatic
  • **
  • Posts: 587
  • Looking for inspiration.....
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Codename: IDK
« Reply #97 on: 2008-10-21, 06:45:29 PM »
this helps so much! Thanks again!:)

and i was going to say something...but i forgot what it was so ill tell you later... :-[
Looking to the skies.....

bluemonkmn

  • SGDK Author
  • Administrator
  • Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 2761
    • ICQ Messenger - 2678251
    • MSN Messenger - BlueMonkMN@gmail.com
    • View Profile
    • http://sgdk2.sf.net/
    • Email
Re: Codename: IDK
« Reply #98 on: 2008-10-22, 05:01:52 AM »
Now that I think about it, all you need to do is exclude one segment from each copy.  For example, in the script for level 2, don't include the code that sets StartScript = 2.

SmartBoy16

  • Contributor
  • Fanatic
  • **
  • Posts: 587
  • Looking for inspiration.....
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Codename: IDK
« Reply #99 on: 2008-10-28, 12:36:27 PM »
speaking about level2, whenever i try to switch to level 2 from the start screen, it switches Right back to the start screen (music plays) and many errors appear (depending on how many times i attempt it). i haven't added anything that goes back to the start screen on the map of the script ( its the same scrpit as before, but with the line under Level2 as "Exit Sub")
Looking to the skies.....

bluemonkmn

  • SGDK Author
  • Administrator
  • Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 2761
    • ICQ Messenger - 2678251
    • MSN Messenger - BlueMonkMN@gmail.com
    • View Profile
    • http://sgdk2.sf.net/
    • Email
Re: Codename: IDK
« Reply #100 on: 2008-10-28, 04:49:45 PM »
OnBeforeMoveSprites executes all the time.  What prevents it from trying to switch maps again after it's already done?

SmartBoy16

  • Contributor
  • Fanatic
  • **
  • Posts: 587
  • Looking for inspiration.....
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Codename: IDK
« Reply #101 on: 2008-11-04, 12:51:59 PM »
I'm not really sure, this only happens when the script is turned on. ill update the project later this week (along with the redesigned Level1)
Looking to the skies.....

SmartBoy16

  • Contributor
  • Fanatic
  • **
  • Posts: 587
  • Looking for inspiration.....
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Codename: IDK
« Reply #102 on: 2008-11-09, 10:29:06 AM »
Update: http://www.box.net/shared/ygk1m710a6

Level 7 works just fine, only the other levels need to be run without the script in order to work.
Looking to the skies.....

bluemonkmn

  • SGDK Author
  • Administrator
  • Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 2761
    • ICQ Messenger - 2678251
    • MSN Messenger - BlueMonkMN@gmail.com
    • View Profile
    • http://sgdk2.sf.net/
    • Email
Re: Codename: IDK
« Reply #103 on: 2008-11-10, 05:34:02 AM »
I don't have GameDev 1.x running in this environment, so I can't trial run your project.  But you should be able to debug this to some extent yourself.  Just start removing script a bit at a time until you get different behavior.  Then you'll know what script is related to the problem.  Maybe start by removing the entire block of script for level 2 and see if that prevents level 2 from switching back to the start screen.  If so, add the level 2 script back and remove smaller pieces of it.

SmartBoy16

  • Contributor
  • Fanatic
  • **
  • Posts: 587
  • Looking for inspiration.....
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Codename: IDK
« Reply #104 on: 2008-11-11, 11:11:44 AM »
it works just fine now, i took off a line in each block (i forgot what it said exactly, but it ended with ???.Play 16) . i kept it in the first block, because it doesn' run without it
Looking to the skies.....