Author Topic: Hello i am idiot, could you advise me?  (Read 6385 times)

Bayer

• Visitor
    • View Profile
    • Email
Hello i am idiot, could you advise me?
« on: 2010-05-26, 08:38:09 AM »
Ah hello, i am wanting to start making a sidescrolling Beat-Em-Up \ RPG (is just for pleasure not for profit).

After some searching the internet i feel my main options are either learning of using GameMaker 8 or of SGDK2.
Although GM has very large user base and many tutorials i for some reason get better feelings from SGDK2, i like it but not for any intelligent reason.

I have some limited experience with RPG Maker (hehe i hear your 'lol'), but really it is a toy when compared to these development tools as no real scripting was involved.
From reading i have done GM has it's own (i think simplified?) language called GML, what does SGDK use? Is it this C++?

Because of how novice i am it would probably make sense to start with GM, the people there are very friendly, but i feel that place is more about competition.
My other concern is that GM encourages you to start using the basic Drag & Drop system, however for more advanced creation it becomes a hindrance.
It might be harder, but i would rather start learning to use tools that will be useful to me throughout, rather than spending months learning baby tools
and then having to restart learning again because i have to switch to GML.

I am not looking to create anything within weeks or months, i am expecting it to be just hobby to take time with and enjoy for what it is.

Here is type of game i would like to make.

I would teach myself in stages, beginning with the very basics (building a room) and taking it step by step untill i have built a working concept.

I am not afraid of learning complex scripting, but i would need somewhere to start. My preference would be SGDK2 over GM, what would be more suited to making a side scrolling bashy smashy game?