Author Topic: Scripting  (Read 4296 times)

Uhfgood

• Regular
    • AOL Instant Messenger - Uhfgood
    • View Profile
    • Indie Flux
Scripting
« on: 2006-01-25, 12:26:34 AM »
I noticed alot of messages where people say they try to avoid scripting, and also where Mr. Marty says he can't understand why people won't give it a chance.  One of the things I did before starting on the tutorial is to read all the documentation including the docutorial on the vb script as related to SGDK.  From the example of the "SIMPLE" bullet shooting via script I can tell you that it's not so simple.  I'm a programmer, and have been for a while now (try over 10 years) however i've only programmed in Pascal, BlitzBasic, and C.  Nothing to do with OO languages (I'm just starting to learn c++ now).  But I'll have to admit the scripting with gamedev seems a bit complex.

Short Answer - Half if not most of the people making games with this are probably not programmers (from what i've gathered, i've been reading before I registered).  Those that are probably don't want to be bothered by learning yet another language.  As scripting is indeed programming, some people don't want to learn a whole new language just to make the games.  This is why your kit is so popular is because no programming is necessary.

A suggestion would be to make a series of tutorials that start with the simplest chores to the more complex.  This way someone could learn how to "program" the SGDK and not be pained to learn vb script.

Keith W. II aka Uhfgood
Keith Weatherby II
http://www.gamesafoot.com
Uhfgood -at- verizon -dot- net

Dr Obvious

• Regular
    • View Profile
    • http://www.drobvious.net
Re: Scripting
« Reply #1 on: 2006-01-25, 01:25:08 AM »