Author Topic: SGDK orientation  (Read 3899 times)

zbjester77

• Visitor
    • AOL Instant Messenger - lvl+7+barbarian
    • View Profile
    • Email
SGDK orientation
« on: 2007-03-17, 10:49:25 AM »
Hey, a quick question...

I am an art student at VCU, for an assignment I am building an arcade that plays games made with SGDK. The plans that I have on the arcade cabinet require that I turn the TV/Monitor onto its side. I know how to Orientate windows that way (Ctrl+ ALT+ Left arrow), but when I open up SGDK it doesn

bluemonkmn

• SGDK Author
  • Administrator
  • Fanatic
    • ICQ Messenger - 2678251
    • MSN Messenger - BlueMonkMN@gmail.com
    • View Profile
    • http://sgdk2.sf.net/
    • Email
Re: SGDK orientation
« Reply #1 on: 2007-03-17, 11:45:40 AM »
Wow, that's a really interesting-sounding project.  Unfortunately I don't know anything about turning programs on their side, or why some might not respect the environment's setting.  I wonder if a different video card/driver would offer better features/support... perhaps maintaining the horizontal aspect ratio, but at least turning it sideways (taking up only part of the display area).  I can only assume that DirectX undercuts Windows settings, and therefore does not honor the rotation.  But the correct driver might be able to support it somehow (since drivers support DirectX).  I think my brother has a video card that lets you rotate the display to any angle, but I'm not sure.  Good luck.  I'll be interested to hear more on how your project turns out.

durnurd

• Lead Lemming
  • Expert
  • Fanatic
  • Games completed so far: 0
    • MSN Messenger - durnurd@hotmail.com
    • View Profile
    • Find My Ed
« Reply #2 on: 2007-03-17, 12:51:13 PM »