Author Topic: custom offset+wrap for Graphics Editor  (Read 10215 times)

Tanja

  • Clever
  • Fanatic
  • ***
  • Posts: 606
    • View Profile
custom offset+wrap for Graphics Editor
« on: 2007-12-19, 03:38:20 AM »
here is one suggestion. it would be very cool when one could type in a custom value for the offset + wrap tool.
this would be very useful to make animations where the tile moves all the time from the upper left to the bottom right corner, for example.

i got this idea because i make the snowstorm tiles now. i need to make at least 8 tiles for that purpose. in order to do this animation, i have to offset + wrap my original picture three times in 16 pixel steps.
to do this without a custom value, i have to select the whole picture, shift it 16 pixels to the right, then copy all, shift it 112 pixels to the left (to make the wrap complete). then i have to shift the new picture 16 pixels down and a copy of it 112 pixels up.
this i have to do three times. but, if i detect a mistake in my source picture when it is animating, i have to correct it and then do all the same thing again. yeah, and that was exactly what i yesterday for about 3 hours did, but with the difference that i only had ONE 16pixel step to do.

i hope i have clearly explained why it would be a good idea. there could be a LOT of time and work be saved.
there could be two input fields at the tools palette, one for the x- and one for the y-value. here the user can type in any value, also negative values.
and it would be applied when the user presses enter then. (yeah that may not be so best solution, could also think of a apply-button under the fields or so.)

bluemonkmn

  • SGDK Author
  • Administrator
  • Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 2761
    • ICQ Messenger - 2678251
    • MSN Messenger - BlueMonkMN@gmail.com
    • View Profile
    • http://sgdk2.sf.net/
    • Email
Re: custom offset+wrap for Graphics Editor
« Reply #1 on: 2007-12-19, 07:00:16 AM »
I think I found a much easier solution to your problem:
1. Make some copies of the tile so you have 4 copies in a 2x2 square in the graphics editor.
2. Load all 4 into the editor at once by selecting a square that covers all 4 tiles and clicking load.
3. Select All and move the image down and right N pixels
4. Store the 2x2 grid of tiles
5. Get just the lower-right tile and copy it to a more permanent place
6. Repeat from step 2

durnurd

  • Lead Lemming
  • Expert
  • Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 1234
  • Games completed so far: 0
    • MSN Messenger - durnurd@hotmail.com
    • View Profile
    • Find My Ed
Re: custom offset+wrap for Graphics Editor
« Reply #2 on: 2007-12-19, 11:08:22 AM »
Why is this being done in the graphics editor at all?  Isn't this a perfect application of the frameset editor and the tweening wizard?
Edward Dassmesser

Tanja

  • Clever
  • Fanatic
  • ***
  • Posts: 606
    • View Profile
Re: custom offset+wrap for Graphics Editor
« Reply #3 on: 2007-12-19, 01:35:40 PM »
because it looks like s***. there is aa involved one cannot turn off.
they way blue monk suggested, is shorter, but only a little bit. i made it all in photoshop now.

i get the feeling my concerns are somehow misinterpreted when i look at some of my threads. i do not only write because i have a special problem. i do post suggestions and problems for every future user and newbie and non-programmer. i would like to make sgdk easier to use for all people. i get sometimes the response "you could make it so and this way and that way", but this expects every future user with the same problem, to has the same knowledge like you, who know sgdk inside out. i mean, i can do it the way you suggested, but there will be other users who will have the same problems as me. please understand all my questions as questions from a not-so-good-scripting, graphically thinking person.

but it is true, i didn't know about the tweenig wizard, and when aa could be turned off, it would be the fastest solution.
btw, i get for every single value field (scales and offsets) an error message when i don't touch them. i have to change the 1.0 values to normal 1 values, without dot.

bluemonkmn

  • SGDK Author
  • Administrator
  • Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 2761
    • ICQ Messenger - 2678251
    • MSN Messenger - BlueMonkMN@gmail.com
    • View Profile
    • http://sgdk2.sf.net/
    • Email
Re: custom offset+wrap for Graphics Editor
« Reply #4 on: 2007-12-19, 06:06:59 PM »
there is aa involved one cannot turn off.

I just tried this myself, and there is no AA affecting the frames if you use whole number offsets for the dx and dy properties of the frame.

i do post suggestions and problems for every future user and newbie and non-programmer. i would like to make sgdk easier to use for all people.

And you see that some of your suggestions have already improved SGDK2 (thank you!).  The option to suspend rules as a group instead of one-by-one (and see which rules are suspended in the tree) resulted from your comments.  Also, the new tutorials were added based on your comments.  However, a change to the program is not always the best solution to a problem.  First of all, the program was recently in beta (and is currently a release candidate) so changes are very restricted right now.  But also, I really don't want this program to become overblown with unnecessary features that will overwhelm new users.  So it's important to try to provide an optimum set of features that accomplishes the most flexibility and power with the minimum number of features.  Maintaining a minimum number of features is important to usability (how easy is it to learn), maintainability (how quickly can a new release/changes be implemented) and stability (how reliable are the changes).

i get sometimes the response "you could make it so and this way and that way", but this expects every future user with the same problem, to has the same knowledge like you, who know sgdk inside out. i mean, i can do it the way you suggested, but there will be other users who will have the same problems as me. please understand all my questions as questions from a not-so-good-scripting, graphically thinking person.
That's why these forums are important.  Hopefully other users with similar issues will be able to find similar answers by reviewing the forums.  Of course I don't mean to rely too heavily on the forums; a user should be able to use the program without having to visit the forums with every question (which is why I also provide tutorials and try to make the program somewhat easy to understand by looking at the UI).  But if SGDK2 can find a good balance that limits the features, and still provides an easy way to accomplish a large range of tasks (even if the user has to do a little research on some kinds of tasks), then it will be clean and usable.  I think users will appreciate being able to deal with a few powerful features than a zillion detailed (harder to remember) features.  And if they can get used to solving their problems with the limited features available, then they will be more able to come up with their own solutions without having to wait for new features or do extra research.

So I don't think I misinterpreted you.  I know that you are making suggestions based on usability for all users.  But I too have to carefully consider each feature and weigh the costs and the benefits.  If there is a work-around that doesn't require too much effort, the feature may have to wait, or maybe be left out entirely in favor of keeping the interface simple.  The graphics editor especially was designed to be a basic editor for the most common tasks in 2D game development because there are plenty of other high powered and free drawing programs available, and SGDK2 can easily import graphics.  I did not want to support all the features of a full-blown drawing package like the GIMP.  But I did want to have some reasonably complete drawing capabilities built in to support 2D games.

but it is true, i didn't know about the tweenig wizard, and when aa could be turned off, it would be the fastest solution.

Just make sure that the result yields whole numbers and not decimals, otherwise AA will affect it.  But I think you can already avoid AA if you ensure this.

btw, i get for every single value field (scales and offsets) an error message when i don't touch them. i have to change the 1.0 values to normal 1 values, without dot.
Does your system use "," for a decimal separator instead of "."?  I wonder if I mixed up "," and "." parsing for foreign systems.

BTW, just because I provide an alternate solution doesn't mean that a feature will never be included in SGDK2.  Of course it's nice to be able to solve the problem immediately without adding a new feature, so I'll provide work-arounds when possible.  But in order to help find the most important features that are really worth adding (and avoid extra unnecessary features), I will tend to delay adding features that have good work-arounds until/unless I find that more people are agreeing that I should be focusing my efforts on such features.  Otherwise there are always more important and more powerful features to work on that might be more worthwhile.  I also like to solve multiple problems with fewer features, and thinking and discussing a challenge for a while before jumping in with a quick fix helps this.  (For example, the tree view in the rule editor now shows you which rules are enabled and what kinds of rules are there with the same icon.)  Your customizable offset suggestion could also solve multiple challenges with a single feature, but I think this needs further consideration.  If the frame tweening wizard is a better solution, SGDK2 is better off forcing the user to find out about the best way to do this instead of allowing them to easily jump to a solution that is not as good.  (If you use the frame tweening wizard, you don't have to re-do all your work of you want to change a pixel in the graphic.)

So I hope you see why I don't jump in to include every suggested change, and that I do understand that your comments are intended for the benefit of all users.

Tanja

  • Clever
  • Fanatic
  • ***
  • Posts: 606
    • View Profile
Re: custom offset+wrap for Graphics Editor
« Reply #5 on: 2007-12-19, 06:35:30 PM »
okay, i understand this. this will be fine to me. just had to mention it. of course you have to consider new features, doing first the important fixes, keep the code and the gui clean.  :)

for the aa problem with the tweening wizard, i don't see what i could have done wrong. i had a 128x128 picture and for x- and y-offset i typed in 16. this should work without aa?! maybe i should have used 16,0 but i am too tired to try this out now.
and for the dots and commas, you are right, when i take out the dot and set in a comma, it works.

bluemonkmn

  • SGDK Author
  • Administrator
  • Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 2761
    • ICQ Messenger - 2678251
    • MSN Messenger - BlueMonkMN@gmail.com
    • View Profile
    • http://sgdk2.sf.net/
    • Email
Re: custom offset+wrap for Graphics Editor
« Reply #6 on: 2007-12-19, 06:42:42 PM »
I found and fixed the problem with "," and "." so that will be fixed in the 2.0 release.

I can barely see the AA problems in your pictures, but I do see they are there (I can't see a problem in the first picture, but I see it in the second picture).  I wonder if it's a feature of your drivers, or if it's specific to the graphics you are using.  I will try with some larger graphics.

Tanja

  • Clever
  • Fanatic
  • ***
  • Posts: 606
    • View Profile
Re: custom offset+wrap for Graphics Editor
« Reply #7 on: 2007-12-19, 06:54:29 PM »
as you mention the drivers... there is a special problem with the display of the game graphics at another computer...
i will test and describe it the next days.

bluemonkmn

  • SGDK Author
  • Administrator
  • Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 2761
    • ICQ Messenger - 2678251
    • MSN Messenger - BlueMonkMN@gmail.com
    • View Profile
    • http://sgdk2.sf.net/
    • Email
Re: custom offset+wrap for Graphics Editor
« Reply #8 on: 2007-12-19, 07:14:15 PM »
Here's my test with 128x128 graphics.  It looks fine for me.  How about you?

Tanja

  • Clever
  • Fanatic
  • ***
  • Posts: 606
    • View Profile
Re: custom offset+wrap for Graphics Editor
« Reply #9 on: 2007-12-19, 07:35:31 PM »
WAIT. i think i got it. it is a misunderstanding! when the first window asks about the transformations which shall be applied to the first frame of the series, i thougt that must be frame number 0! but you meant frame number 1, didn't you? basically frame two in a series of 8. i tried that and your reference pic is not blurred. so it makes sense, yay!

and btw, sorry for being so childish. i must have gotten too little attention as a child, or so.  :wounded:

Jam0864

  • Contributor
  • Fanatic
  • **
  • Posts: 744
    • MSN Messenger - marmalade0864@hotmail.com
    • View Profile
    • Jam0864's Content Dump
    • Email
Re: custom offset+wrap for Graphics Editor
« Reply #10 on: 2007-12-20, 03:37:51 AM »
wait, wait, wait.
did I hear tweening wizard?

tweening?

Isnt that like in flash with the keyframes and such? I don't remember any of that. New feature?    :)

bluemonkmn

  • SGDK Author
  • Administrator
  • Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 2761
    • ICQ Messenger - 2678251
    • MSN Messenger - BlueMonkMN@gmail.com
    • View Profile
    • http://sgdk2.sf.net/
    • Email
Re: custom offset+wrap for Graphics Editor
« Reply #11 on: 2007-12-20, 06:54:34 AM »
WAIT. i think i got it. it is a misunderstanding! when the first window asks about the transformations which shall be applied to the first frame of the series, i thougt that must be frame number 0! but you meant frame number 1, didn't you?

No it means the first frame (#0), but it's easy to confuse because there are at least a couple ways to get the numbers wrong.  Here are the parameters I applied to the wizard (you should also make sure on the last review step that all the numbers are whole numbers.  Here you can verify that it worked out like you expected):
1. Append frames to this frameset
2. Starting parameters = all default (offset 0,0)
3. Ending parameters = offset: 112,112 not 128,128 because that's the same as 0,0 - this must be the offset of the last frame, not the offset that makes it equal to the first frame again.
4. Count=8

So the offset sequence goes like this:
#1=0, #2=16, #3=32, #4=48, #5=64, #6=80, #7=96, #8=112

and btw, sorry for being so childish. i must have gotten too little attention as a child, or so.  :wounded:
Don't worry about it -- it's perfectly acceptable.  I'm not perfect, so sometimes someone needs to complain a little more to make sure the important things are considered.  If people don't complain, I won't know which things are more important ;).  I hope my long replies don't scare people away -- discussion is important to arrive at the best conclusion.  (Sorry I can't do it reliably in German, so you have to read lots of English :-[)

durnurd

  • Lead Lemming
  • Expert
  • Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 1234
  • Games completed so far: 0
    • MSN Messenger - durnurd@hotmail.com
    • View Profile
    • Find My Ed
Re: custom offset+wrap for Graphics Editor
« Reply #12 on: 2007-12-20, 09:33:16 AM »
Another option is to use 9 frames and set the offset to 128, and then delete the last frame after you're done. This way, you don't have to figure out how much to offset the last frame.
Edward Dassmesser

bluemonkmn

  • SGDK Author
  • Administrator
  • Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 2761
    • ICQ Messenger - 2678251
    • MSN Messenger - BlueMonkMN@gmail.com
    • View Profile
    • http://sgdk2.sf.net/
    • Email
Re: custom offset+wrap for Graphics Editor
« Reply #13 on: 2007-12-20, 10:11:30 AM »
wait, wait, wait.
did I hear tweening wizard?

tweening?

Isnt that like in flash with the keyframes and such? I don't remember any of that. New feature?    :)

It's not new.  Hey, if you have any long car trips this holiday season where you're a passenger with nothing better to do, maybe you should browse the help file (on a laptop or a printout) to see what else you're missing  ;)  (Although I don't know if there's a good way to print the help content).  The Frame Tweening Wizard is in the Frameset menu of the Frameset editor.

Jam0864

  • Contributor
  • Fanatic
  • **
  • Posts: 744
    • MSN Messenger - marmalade0864@hotmail.com
    • View Profile
    • Jam0864's Content Dump
    • Email
Re: custom offset+wrap for Graphics Editor
« Reply #14 on: 2007-12-20, 06:18:28 PM »
ooh hoo hoo hoo...   ;D

I'm gonna have fun with this.  :)